Rise of the Tomb Raider Wins Writing Award, Beating Witcher 3 and Others

And the winner is…Rise of the Tomb Raider. Square Enix’s action-adventure game took home the “outstanding achievement” award for video game writing at last night’s Writer’s Guild Awards.

It beat out The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, Assassin’s Creed Syndicate, and Pillars of Eternity for the honor.

Games were judged by a panel of Video Game Writers Caucus members and/or Writers Guild members from the video game field. Below are the official writing credits for Rise of the Tomb Raider:

Rise of the Tomb Raider:

  • Lead narrative designer: John Stafford
  • Narrative designer: Cameron Suey
  • Lead writer: Rhianna Pratchett
  • Additional writer: Philip Gelatt

Last year’s winner was Naughty Dog’s The Last of Us: Left Behind, written by Neil Druckmann. It beat out Alien: Isolation, Assassin’s Creed Unity, and Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag – Freedom Cry.

Rise of the Tomb Raider was released for Xbox One and Xbox 360 in November 2015. The PC edition arrived in January, while a PlayStation 4 version will come out later this year.

Beyond that, Square Enix has suggested a follow-up is also in the works.

Leave a reply