Watch Today’s Sonic Presentation Right Here [UPDATE: IT’S OVER]

[UPDATE] The event has now ended. During the show, Sega confirmed the release date for Sonic Boom: Fire & Ice and announced a Sonic 25th anniversary event for July.

The original story is below.

It’s not just Pokemon that has an anniversary in 2016, as Sega’s iconic Sonic the Hedgehog franchise celebrates its 25th anniversary this year. To mark the occasion, Sega is holding a special presentation today at SXSW, during which panelists will provide an “in-depth” look at the blue blur’s history across gaming, TV, and merchandise, among other categories.

Perhaps more interesting is a line from the panel’s description that teases, “Join us as we celebrate the past and look to the future!

Promoting the panel earlier this month, Sega also said the discussion will bring “breaking news”–perhaps some new details on the Sonic movie or the rumored new game?

We won’t have to wait much longer to find out, as the panel, titled “Sonic the Hedgehog: 25 Year Anniversary,” takes place at 1:30 PM PST / 3:30 PM CT / 4:30 PM EST.

The show will be broadcast live and Twitch and we will update this post with a streaming embed as the broadcast draws nearer.

Panelists include:

  • Aaron Webber – Sonic Social Media Manager
  • Takashi Iizuka – Head of Sonic Team
  • Yuji Naka – Sonic Original Creator
  • Austin Keys – Director, Product Development
  • Roger Craig Smith – Voice of Sonic The Hedgehog
  • Mike Pollock – Voice of Dr. Eggman

What are you hoping to see during the event? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a reply