Three Billboards, The Shape of Water, Blade Runner 2049 Score BAFTA Wins

The acclaimed drama Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri was the big winner at this year’s BAFTA awards. The movie claimed five prizes at the British film awards ceremony, which is seen as an indicator of who might succeed at the Oscars next month.

Three Billboards won Best film, Best British Film, Best Actress (Frances McDormand), Best Supporting Actor (Sam Rockwell), and Best Original Screenplay for writer/director Martin McDonagh.

No Caption Provided

McDonagh was also nominated for Best Director, but that prize was taken home by Guillermo Del Toro for The Shape of Water. Del Toro’s offbeat sci-fi fantasy actually led the pack in terms of nominations–12, compared to Three Billboard‘s nine. But in the end, it had to settle three wins–Best Director, Best Original Music, and Best Production Design.

Elsewhere, Gary Oldman won Best Actor for Darkest Hour, Allison Janney won Best Supporting Actress for I, Tonya, and Coco claimed Best Animated Film. Blade Runner 2049 won Best Cinematography and Best Visual Effects, while Get Out star Daniel Kaluuya took home the Rising Star award, which is voted on by the public.

Check out the full list of winners below:

Best film

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Outstanding British film

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Leading actress

Frances McDormand–Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Leading actor

Gary Oldman–Darkest Hour

Supporting actress

Allison Janney–I, Tonya

Supporting actor

Sam Rockwell–Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri


The Shape Of Water–Guillermo Del Toro

EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)

Daniel Kaluuya

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer

I Am Not A Witch

Film not in the English language

The Handmaiden


I Am Not Your Negro

Animated film


Original screenplay

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Adapted screenplay

Call Me By Your Name

Original music

The Shape Of Water–Alexandre Desplat


Blade Runner 2049–Roger Deakins


Baby Driver–Jonathan Amos, Paul Machliss

Production design

The Shape Of Water–Paul Austerberry, Jeff Melvin, Shane Vieau

Costume design

Phantom Thread–Mark Bridges

Make-up and hair

Darkest Hour–David Malinowski, Ivana Primorac, Lucy Sibbick, Kazuhiro Tsuji


Dunkirk–Richard King, Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo, Mark Weingarten

Special visual effects

Blade Runner 2049–Gerd Nefzer, John Nelson

British short animation

Poles Apart

British short film

Cowboy Dave

BAFTA Fellowship

Sir Ridley Scott

Leave a reply