Classic Sega Games Coming To Nintendo Switch This Summer

Sega is bringing a slate of its classic titles to Nintendo Switch. During the Sega Fes event in Japan, the publisher announced Sega Ages, a lineup of retro Sega games that are coming to North America, Europe, and Japan later this year.

The first batch of Sega Ages titles will be available this summer and consists of five classic games: the Master System versions of Phantasy Star and Alex Kidd in Miracle World; the Genesis versions of Sonic the Hedgehog and Thunder Force IV; and the arcade version of Gain Ground.

Thunder Force IV
Thunder Force IV
Gallery image 1Gallery image 2

The Sega Ages ports are being handled by M2, the studio behind the Sega 3D Classics series on 3DS. M2 was also responsible for the Game Boy Advance line of Virtual Console titles on Wii U.

Sega hasn’t announced an exact release date or pricing details for the Sega Ages games, but the publisher shared a handful of screenshots of them, which you can take a look at above. During the event, Sega teased that it is planning to release more than 15 games under the Sega Ages banner.

In addition to the Sega Ages titles, Sega also unveiled a mini Sega Genesis during the Sega Fes event. More notably, the publisher announced Shenmue I & II, a collection of the beloved Dreamcast games coming to PS4, Xbox One, and PC later this year.

Leave a reply