Fortnite Season 5 Battle Pass: Skins, Price, Free V-Bucks, And How It Works

With a new season in Fortnite: Battle Royale comes a new Battle Pass. Season 5 is officially live, and with it, we have the Season 5 Battle Pass. For those already familiar with past versions, the basics of how it works have not changed dramatically–you’ll play, complete challenges, rank up, and earn rewards–hopefully including the sought-after level 100 skin, Ragnarok. There are a variety of new skins available along with other cosmetic rewards, and we’ve also gotten a new category of item called “toys” that you can obtain and then play with during a match.

There are, however, some key differences with the Battle Pass to be aware of. One of changes is great news for those who don’t want to pay for any V-Bucks to spend on the Battle Pass but still want new things to do each week. Here’s everything you need to know about the Season 5 Battle Pass, including its price, changes to challenges, and the skins you can unlock.

How Does The Battle Pass Work?

The Season 5 Battle Pass operates much as it did in the past. As you play, you level up your profile, which rewards you with Battle Stars. These Battle Stars in turn rank up your Battle Pass, thus unlocking a variety of rewards. These rewards are divided into two tiers: A small number obtainable by all players, and those that are reserved for Battle Pass owners. You don’t have to purchase the Battle Pass right away in order to avoid missing out; you can buy it mid-season and retroactively earn the premium rewards based on the tier that you’ve already reached.

However, there is is a benefit to grabbing the Battle Pass sooner rather than later. Among the premium rewards you’ll receive are XP bonuses, both for playing in general and those for playing in a party with friends. Because leveling up with XP translates into Battle Stars (thus ranking up your Battle Pass), it’s in your interest to grab the Battle Pass early and benefit from those bonuses. Purchasing the Battle Pass also gets you access to all challenges throughout the season (more on those in a moment), which are an easy way to earn Battle Stars and rank up further.

Gallery image 1Gallery image 2

How Much Does It Cost?

As in the past, the Battle Pass costs 950 V-Bucks, a premium currency obtained with real-world money. Buying the smallest available bundle (1,000 V-Bucks) costs $10, leaving you with 50 V-Bucks to begin saving toward purchasing a skin, cosmetic, or a future Battle Pass. There is no option to buy the Battle Pass directly with real-world money, as had been the plan at one point. That said, it is arguably an excellent value due to the way the Battle Pass rewards you with further V-Bucks (something we dive into further below).

Everyone Gets (Some) Challenges For Free

Weekly challenges have been a big highlight of past Battle Passes. By purchasing one, you’d receive a set of seven new objectives to complete each week, which in turn allowed you to rank up your Battle Pass more quickly and earn rewards. Those without the Battle Pass could still earn a very select number of rewards, but they only had access to a single set of seven Starter challenges for the duration of the season.

For Season 5, there are no Starter challenges. Instead, each set of weekly challenges has been broken up into free and premium sections. These objectives offer up either five or 10 Battle Stars, with the latter being reserved for Hard-difficulty ones. Each week will have one Hard challenge for free players, while the other two are reserved for Battle Pass owners. Notably, the 5k XP bonus available each week is reserved for Battle Pass owners; you have to complete four challenges in a given week to unlock this, meaning it’s only possible with access to the week’s full suite of challenges.

You Still Get Free V-Bucks

As noted above, the Battle Pass costs 950 V-Bucks, but that arguably pays for itself if you play routinely. Among the premium rewards available in the Battle Pass are V-Bucks–every six to 10 tiers, you’ll earn 100 free V-Bucks. (There are also two 100 V-Buck rewards in the free reward tier, at ranks 18 and 34.) By reaching rank 58, you’ll have earned 1,000 V-Bucks, which is more than you’ll have spent on the Battle Pass in the first place.

There’s an additional 500 V-Bucks still to be earned after that, though doing so will require a fair amount of playtime. Epic estimates earning every reward in the Battle Pass takes from 75-150 hours, but if you play regularly and complete a lot of challenges, it shouldn’t be hard to earn back most or all of what you invest in the Battle Pass.

Road Trip And Drift Take Are The New Blockbuster And Carbide Challenges

One of Season 4’s wrinkles to the Battle Pass was the introduction of Blockbuster and Carbide challenges. These are back for Season 5, but with new names: Road Trip and Drift, respectively. Both of these require you to purchase the Season 5 Battle Pass to complete.

Road Trip challenges task you with completing all seven challenges from any single week. The reward is a loading screen which–if Season 4 is any indication–will lead you to a secret Battle Star that ranks up your Battle Pass by one tier. There are seven Road Trip challenges in total, and by completing all of these (meaning you fully complete seven weeks of challenges), you’ll earn a bonus reward that looks to be a Legendary skin. We won’t be sure of what it is until at least the seventh week of challenges are live.

Drift challenges are similar to Carbide, in that you’re basically just asked to play a lot. This time around, however, rather than being asked to reach a certain level, you’re tasked with gaining a certain amount of XP–from 10,000 up to 200,000. Each of the five challenges offers a new style option for the Drift skin, an outfit which you’ll receive for free as soon as you buy the Battle Pass. If you complete four of the five Drift challenges (meaning you’ve earned 100,000 XP total), you’ll also receive the Rift Edge harvesting tool, an alternative for the pickaxe.

What Are The Rewards?

No Caption Provided
Gallery image 1Gallery image 2Gallery image 3Gallery image 4Gallery image 5Gallery image 6Gallery image 7Gallery image 8Gallery image 9Gallery image 10Gallery image 11Gallery image 12Gallery image 13Gallery image 14Gallery image 15Gallery image 16Gallery image 17Gallery image 18

You’ll immediately get a handful of rewards for purchasing the Battle Pass, including the aforementioned Legendary Drift skin, as well as as the Epic Huntress skin. You also get access to all challenges and an immediate XP bonus, as well as five free Battle Pass tiers for Season 6’s Battle Pass.

By ranking up the Battle Pass, you’ll earn a variety of skins, V-Bucks, sprays, emoticons, gliders, harvesting tools, back blings, loading screens, emotes, contrails, and XP bonuses. There’s also a new type of item, toys, that allow you to play around with others during a match. These include a golf ball and a basketball. You can see every single reward available in our rundown, or check out all of the skins and cosmetics here.

Fortnite Season 5 Coverage:

Leave a reply