Diablo Announcement Appears To Be Coming At BlizzCon This Year

The schedule for BlizzCon 2018 has been released, and it certainly seems to imply something big for the Diablo series is on the way. The event shows two planned panels for Diablo, one of which is first up after the main stage presentation where Blizzard shows off its big upcoming announcements.

First, just a half-hour after the opening ceremony, the main stage will host a “Diablo: What’s Next” panel on the main stage. The conference has similar panels planned for Overwatch, Hearthstone, Heroes of the Storm, and World of Warcraft–but Diablo’s is conspicuously coming first. These panels tend to delve into more details about whatever announcements came during the opening ceremonies. A second panel, planned for the following day, covers the world of Diablo and is followed by a Q&A session.

Combined, those give pretty good reason to believe that Blizzard is planning to announce a Diablo project on the main stage. Earlier this year, the company announced Diablo 3 is coming to Nintendo Switch, but it would be strange to roll out the blood-red carpet just for a port.

Blizzard has also previously stated that it has multiple Diablo projects in the works. We know about one, since that tease came before the Switch announcement, but that still means at least one more is on the way too. “Some of them are going to take longer than others, but we may have some things to show you later this year,” said community manager Brandy Camel.

BlizzCon starts on November 2, with the opening ceremonies kicking off at 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET. The Diablo: What’s Next panel will follow at 12:30 PM PT / 3:30 PM ET.

Leave a reply